Conversations With Creatives — Mary Lou Belli

I interviewed my pal, Emmy award-winning TV director, Mary Lou Belli

anniewood

--

Mary Lou Belli directing NCIS-New Orleans. Photo contributed by Mary Lou Belli.

I’ve known Mary Lou for 12 years now. I promise that what I’m about to say is not hyperbole, I seriously have never met anyone as giving of their time and knowledge when it comes to nurturing and encouraging people in the business. And on a personal note, the holidays are not the holidays without me eating approximately a dozen of Mary Lou’s crazy delicious warm gorgonzola bruschetta bites. Is it Christmas yet?

The Qs and The As

Q: When I was three years old, I put my hands on the TV over Carol Burnett’s face and declared that I was going to be in the TV. Did you also know you wanted to be in showbiz as a child?

A: I wanted to be a nun, then a chef, then an actress/singer/dancer.

Q: What was your first job in Hollywood and how did you get it?

A: I was an understudy for a teen on a TV sitcom. Basically, I rehearsed with adult-actors when that actress was in school…That actress, Megan Follows, is now a director herself…in addition to her successful acting career.

Q: As an actor, I often hear that the directing starts with casting. When you are in the call back session, watching actors, do you…

--

--

anniewood

I act, art & write! Memoir, fiction, poems, original art. For direct Friday creative gifts from me, subscribe here: https://anniewood.substack.com/subscribe