Conversations with Creatives — Henry Jaglom

I interviewed my pal, the legendary indie film director, Henry Jaglom

anniewood

--

Source: Henry Jaglom

One of the sheltering in place side effects for me has been my newfound friendship with the legendary indie film director, Henry Jaglom.

As a teenager, I remember going to the Laemmle theatre on Sunset Blvd to see Henry Jaglom’s film, Eating, a movie about women and their relationship with food. What I remember liking about it was how the entire film was about women. What women thought, felt, feared, and wanted. Women, women, women! This was at a time where women characters were mostly second banana to the men characters. And as an actress myself, this Jaglom guy shined a spotlight directly on women in a way I hadn’t seen before. I left the theatre and immediately told my friend, I want to be in a Jaglom movie one day.

In the early days of the pandemic here in the States, Henry generously posted on Facebook that he was willing to send a link to all of his films for people to watch while they shelter in place. I asked him if I could include the link in my newsletter and he said yes. Then…

we started a fantastic back and forth email friendship sharing art and…

--

--

anniewood

I act, art & write! Memoir, fiction, poems, original art. For direct Friday creative gifts from me, subscribe here: https://anniewood.substack.com/subscribe