Bring on the Artsy Women!

anniewood
3 min readMar 17, 2021

I am not your muse

My artwork currently on exhibit at the Laurie Shapiro Gallery in Los Angeles

Okay, I’m not JUST your muse.

Because inspiring someone to create is kinda fun but for me, the thing that really tickles my fancy is being inspired and creating art myself. And according to facts, women have been practically shut out from the art world for many moons. That’s because, big surprise, the fellas are the ones running things.

Three of the most-visited museums in the world, the British Museum, the Louvre , and The Metropolitan Museum of Art have never had female directors.

In my solo exhibit last year, Pardon Me While I Blaze Some Trails, featuring 12 trailblazing women, one of the women who inspired a piece I did is Corinne Michael West. She was an abstract expressionist mostly forgotten until recently.

Artwork by me inspired by a vintage photo of Corinne

She went by Michael West to get a leg up. Women artists Lee (Lenore) Krasner and George (Grace) Hartigan did the same thing as it was understood that if gallery owners thought the artist was a man, they’d have a better chance of getting their work exhibited.

--

--

anniewood

I act, art & write! Memoir, fiction, poems, original art. For direct Friday creative gifts from me, subscribe here: https://anniewood.substack.com/subscribe